The Socialmenia

The Social Hotel – Creators Inn

Posted on: August 19, 2009

Today is a very nice day in Holland; yet I am stuck in my office, doing barely anything because my supervisors are one on holiday, and another one ill. Thus, having done all the tasks assigned to me since yesterday, I checked my Google Reader and found lots of interesting articles.

One of them is about the social hotel – Creators Inn – in Stockholm, Sweden. It is “offering free, short-term accommodation for visiting creators.” (The first Creators Inn is in Gothenburg, Sweden.) This hotel is created by a clothing line, Elvine. Thus, you might expect lots of Elvine products in the hotel (like you are free to use the Elvine clothes that are prepared for you in every room – nice!)

Yet, you cannot just pop in and ask for a free room. You have to apply for it; and they will decide upon a selection procedure.

Interesting, huh?

And, to apply for a free accommodation, you can’t simply say “I’m broke, I need a free accommodation!” or “I want to meet some friends and catch up with them. ” You need to state an interesting and creative reason.

I agree with Nick Burcher in his post about Creators Inn. This concept displays the importance of Word of Mouth and the creation of brand experience.

I wonder whether I could get a free room. Yet, still need to think what my reasoning is 🙂

And I also wonder whether this concept would work in Bali or Lombok, Indonesia, for instance. Hm,…

Read more about Creators Inn here

Or watch this video

Leave a Reply

